Thrifty Thursday

Standard

This weeks recipe is totally old school.

As in I am in my 30’s and I remember eating this before I was old enough to go to school.

Don’t judge it.

It sounds gross.

It is not gross.

And it is crazy cheap to make.

May I present to you….

Tuna and Yellow Rice

  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1 pkg yellow rice
  • 6oz shredded cheddar cheese
  1. Cook Rice according to package directions
  2. At end of cook time add in tuna and cheese
  3. Mix until all the cheese is melted
  4. Serve up with a side dish of veggies

I must confess that Hubs hates this meal.  When it is being served up for dinner he just fixes himself up a bowl of cereal (and I am fine with that).  Smiley, however, loves it.  She will eat almost as big of a serving as I will.

3 responses »

  1. That is interesting, Mandy. I have never tried it, but it is reminds me of my Aunt Lyda. She used to mix tuna and pork & beans for my cousin and uncle. They loved it. I never tried that either. We just ate tuna casserole in our family – the kind made with cream soup, noodles and frozen peas.

  2. I’m so going to try it. Tuna casserole is a meal that usually only occurs if Drew is out for a guys night or something because he says he can’t do canned fish. But I am willing to try a new tuna recipe anyway! :o) I love quick fix meals, and I know the kids and I would enjoy this. I’ll let you know how it goes with Drew. :o)

Leave a Reply

