Who Do I Do It All For

Standard

The radio is almost constantly on in our home.

I like background noise.

The other day a song by Steven Curtis Chapman really hit home for me.

It is entitled Do Everything and the opening verse and chorus are:

You’re picking up toys on the living room floor
for the 15th time today
Matching up socks and sweeping up lost
Cheerios that got away
You put a baby on your hip and color on your lips
and head out the door
And while I may not know you I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes does it matter at all
We’ll let me remind you it all matters just as long as you

Do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you to do
Every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And every little thing you do

Do I really do everything to the glory of the One who made me?  Do I even do a little to the glory of the One who made me?  Do I clean up the lunch tornado with the Lord and His glory in mind?

Too often I find that most of what I do is for myself.  I wish I could at least say it is for my husband and daughter (and that would still not be okay) but truthfully I do not know how often I can say that.  On the surface it looks like I do things for others, but I know my own heart and know that I work it all around what my preferences are.  This is probably the reason I get so frustrated and feel such discontent with where my life is.

How different it would all look if I did all things for His glory.  He made me for a purpose and while I do not always see that purpose clearly I know that part of that purpose is to serve Him by serving my family. I am the first and primary example of Christ that Smiley sees.  I want her to see Christ lived out in our home and that starts with me and the attitude I choose to have.

Reading her a book for the 12th time.

Changing dirty diapers.

Keeping a clean and orderly home.

Preparing meals.

Doing it all with joy and a greater purpose.

 

1 Corintians 10:31 “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

One response »

Leave a Reply

