The Grove

Standard

Hi

Its me.

Yes I have been absent for awhile.

But now I am back, I think.

We have been busy little bees around here and writing is not something I would say I am gifted at, so to blog takes a bit of time and effort, which I have not had a lot of.

This past weekend the Hubs and I took a little trip to Marion, SC for a family wedding.  We stayed at a wonderful B&B called The Grove.

The Grove

It was beautiful and old and quiet and charming and a million other things.  Ann and Denley (the owners) radiated southern, christian hospitality.  I left feeling as if they were family.

We ate homemade cookies, french toast, and bacon cooked on a wood stove.  They fixed decaf coffee just for me (because while I love coffee my body stopped loving caffeine a few years ago).  Not only was it decaf but it was coffee from The Forest, which is our favorite coffee roaster.

After the trip was over I thought about why it was so enjoyable.  And I could name about 100 reasons but one that stood out was that for two days I got to take off my ‘mommy hat’.

Don’t get me wrong I love being a mom and would not trade my profession as a Stay At Home Mom for anything, but just like those of you who leave your house to go to work you appreciate it when you get some time off.

I had a chance to unwind and recharge.

I only had to worry about the food on my plate and not what was happening to the food on someone else’s plate.  If I felt like taking a walk, I walked.  When I felt like reading, I read.  When I sat in church for the wedding I did not have to care if the loud noises were coming from my kid.

I realized that it is okay to say you need a couple of days away from your job.  I realized that I am not a bad mother if I get out on my own for a bit.  I realized that I am probably a better mother for taking a break.

Leave a Reply

